unwrappingmommy

Take that, Minute 13!

Posted on: June 30, 2012

Today I finished week2/day2 of the Couch to 5K program.  On the first 4 days minute 13 was my killer.  I wanted to scream, and stop, and go eat a donut.  But today, oh my, today I went right past minute 13 without much notice!  Now, minute 15.5 on the other hand had me about ready to pass out, but no, I kept going.  Yay me!

I took a day off yesterday from a workout because we were taking the kids to Kings Island, and I did 2 workouts the day before.  Did you know there are workout videos on Netflix streaming?!  I didn’t and I gave one a try after the kids went to bed.  Anyway, I decided that since we had a busy day I’d just skip a workout that morning.  I still kept track of my food on MyFitnessPal, and I had my usual breakfast and lunch.  But, after the park we stopped at Frickers for dinner.  On the way there I checked out some numbers so I’d be ready to make a good choice when we ordered.  I would usually order the “Fricken’ Chicken Pizza” or regular breaded wings, and a basket of brew city fries with cheese (we share the fries).  But, after doing a little research, those old favorites are out the window.  Ten breaded wings are a wopping 1732 calories!!  That’s more calories than I eat in a day!  But, 10 unbreaded wings, or “Naked” are only 240 calories.  So, of course I went naked 🙂  And, because I had lots of calories left, and I still like food, I ordered fried pickles (which we shared) and I enjoyed fewer than I would have in the past, but still ate them just the same…guilt free.

I may be redundant here, but I’m not on a diet.  I don’t know how to diet, I don’t like to diet, and quite frankly, I’m a fat kid, so diets won’t work.  I’ve been overweight since I was in 7th grade.  Not horribly, but enough to make me not like myself very much.  A diet, that will make me lose weight but not maintain that loss is useless to me.  This is being aware of what my hand is putting into my mouth.  This is not eating the rest of the macaroni and cheese after the kids have eaten it for dinner.  This is eating a bowl of watermelon as a snack.  This is not grabbing a quick sandwich at McDonald’s because I haven’t eaten yet today and am now starving.  This is eating breakfast even if I don’t want to.  This is not drinking a cup of coffee with 3 spoons of sugar and a whoooole lot of non-dairy creamer.  This is weighing my food before I eat it or cook it.  This is not eating as much as I want because it tastes good (or because I’m bored!).  This is using food as a tool to a healthy body.  This is not taking food away from myself to see the number on the scale drop faster.  This IS eating to live, NOT living to eat.

1 Response to "Take that, Minute 13!"

YES!!!!! This post made me smile!! It’s so rare that people “get it!”. Good job!!! Keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

@tcakes4u on Instagram

When your kid asks for a lunchbox note 15 minutes before the bus come...
#lunchboxnote #firstdayofschool #groot #quick #freehand #instagram #instagood #gotg #iamgroot Movie night at the park, and I found this little sweetie. #WillyWonka #paintrocks #paintedrocks #imagination #rockdrop #artdrop #candy #candyshop #cwpdrocks #finderskeepers Hooking up some chevrons for a Bebe!! Love these poppy, fun colors 😍 
#crochet #baby #bright #fun #colorful #chevron #afghan #babyblanket #babycrochet #yarn #rhss Oh Happy Day!! #goldensnitch #fidgetspinner #harrypotter #quidditch  #seeker Kassidy LOVES My Little Pony, and Bill can't stand them. They have a running joke about it, and so when it was time to make a Father's Day gift, she chose to draw her Dad, annoyed, and surrounded by ponies 😂😂😂 Definitely my kid 😍😂😍😂😍 #mlp #mylittlepony #fathersday #funny #dadjoke #tween #mykid #justlikehermama I miss you already. See you in October! #beach #clearwaterbeach #clearwater #florida #sunset #sugarsand #paradise #nofilter #nofilterneeded #palmtrees #clouds #insta This Lil'Bit is turning 8!!!! Not sure how that happened, but she'll always be my baby #baby #birthday #birthdaygirl #youngest #daughter #sister #trolls #steelers #wonderwoman #princessleia  #bubbles #losttooth #glassbottlesoda #MEPA #firstplace #8 #eight #8yearsold Our hotel is prettier than your hotel! 🌈🏖️🌊🐬🐳🐋🚢🐚🌅🕶️👒🏄‍♀️🌞 #clearwaterbeach #edge #edgehotel #florida #hotel #openforbusiness #instagram #allegiant #summer #infinity #pool #instagood #expedia #ocean #beach #vacation #clearwater #paradise #sugarsand #heavenonearth #beautiful #clearskies #beachhairdontcare My favorite place. No filter needed. #clearwaterbeach #florida #vacation #sunset #gulfofmexico

@Chalk_n_Awe on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Categories

