unwrappingmommy

Over the River and Through the Woods

Posted on: July 17, 2012

I returned tonight from a trip back to my old stomping grounds.  I don’t really like to go back.  I don’t feel like I belong there, there are people in the area that I really REALLY don’t want to run into, and all my stuff is here.  But, sometimes you have to go back from where you came from because parts of your life are still there.

Now that I’ve become more aware of what I put into my body, how to treat it, how it feels when I treat it correctly, and that I like the feeling I get when I do it’s even more difficult to make that trip back “home”.  Food is a non-issue.  If you want it you eat it.  If you don’t want it you eat it.  If it sits still long enough you eat it.  If you put it on my plate, but I’m not going to eat it you eat it.  Nutrition labels might as well be written in Swahili.  Fiber???  What’s that?  Serving Size???  As much as I can fit on my plate unless I eat all that and then I want more. 

I tried really hard to stick to my new guns while there.  And, I think on a lot of levels I was successful.  I was in town for a family function, so my time was pretty much tied up in preparations for that event.  I didn’t get a chance to exercise unless you count the midnight Walmart runs.  I found by Saturday evening I was missing my new routine, my food scale and my treadmill.  I tried to start each morning with my usual smoothie or oatmeal.  This was a success, but come lunch and dinner…forget it.  I did cook dinner for my parents one night, from the Skinny Taste website.  They loved it, but I know that now that I’m not there spewing my Nutritional Values and Serving Size rant they will go back to huge helpings of enriched pasta covered in melty, saucy goodness.

It makes me sad that these people who I love don’t really care how they eat.  They’ve been doing it this way for so long that it just makes sense to keep it up.  Health issues are creeping up for both of my parents, mostly my dad, who is only going to be 56 this year.  Since I’m going to be 34, fifty-six doesn’t seem that much older than me, and I don’t want to be in the same health they are when I’m up there.  Another thought is my husband will be close to retirement from his job by the age of 56, and there is no way we could enjoy that retirement if he or I were in the shape my parents are in.

While the photo of me on the beach is an “in my face” reminder of what I don’t want to look like now, my parent’s are reminders of what I don’t want to look like in the future.

I haven’t been keeping up with my Couch 2 5K workout, so I’m going to redo week 2, and then continue on.  If the weather cools off a little bit soon I’m hoping to get outside in the early morning.

I’m glad to be back home where I can live healthy and show my kids how to live healthy.  I’m glad to be back home where I can weigh every gram of food I’m thinking of putting into my mouth and keep track of it so I know what is going in; not so I can be a Nazi about it, but so that I can make good choices.  I’m glad to be back home where I don’t have food temptations all around me (even though my mom was very good about asking me what I wanted or needed.)  I’m glad to be back home where I belong.

1 Response to "Over the River and Through the Woods"

If motivation for the c25k is an issue, find a fall 5k and register for it!!! You can usually find one close that’s not expensive and the usually are for a charity!! Once you sign up, have paid your money and tell everyone you did it, you will be less likely to back out and more likely to tie up your running shoes!! Not to mention you get a cool race shirt that screams i ran a 5k, you helped out a charity AND the best of all, there is NOTHING in this world like crossing that finish line and knowing all your hard work helped get you there!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

@tcakes4u on Instagram

When your kid asks for a lunchbox note 15 minutes before the bus come...
#lunchboxnote #firstdayofschool #groot #quick #freehand #instagram #instagood #gotg #iamgroot Movie night at the park, and I found this little sweetie. #WillyWonka #paintrocks #paintedrocks #imagination #rockdrop #artdrop #candy #candyshop #cwpdrocks #finderskeepers Hooking up some chevrons for a Bebe!! Love these poppy, fun colors 😍 
#crochet #baby #bright #fun #colorful #chevron #afghan #babyblanket #babycrochet #yarn #rhss Oh Happy Day!! #goldensnitch #fidgetspinner #harrypotter #quidditch  #seeker Kassidy LOVES My Little Pony, and Bill can't stand them. They have a running joke about it, and so when it was time to make a Father's Day gift, she chose to draw her Dad, annoyed, and surrounded by ponies 😂😂😂 Definitely my kid 😍😂😍😂😍 #mlp #mylittlepony #fathersday #funny #dadjoke #tween #mykid #justlikehermama I miss you already. See you in October! #beach #clearwaterbeach #clearwater #florida #sunset #sugarsand #paradise #nofilter #nofilterneeded #palmtrees #clouds #insta This Lil'Bit is turning 8!!!! Not sure how that happened, but she'll always be my baby #baby #birthday #birthdaygirl #youngest #daughter #sister #trolls #steelers #wonderwoman #princessleia  #bubbles #losttooth #glassbottlesoda #MEPA #firstplace #8 #eight #8yearsold Our hotel is prettier than your hotel! 🌈🏖️🌊🐬🐳🐋🚢🐚🌅🕶️👒🏄‍♀️🌞 #clearwaterbeach #edge #edgehotel #florida #hotel #openforbusiness #instagram #allegiant #summer #infinity #pool #instagood #expedia #ocean #beach #vacation #clearwater #paradise #sugarsand #heavenonearth #beautiful #clearskies #beachhairdontcare My favorite place. No filter needed. #clearwaterbeach #florida #vacation #sunset #gulfofmexico

@Chalk_n_Awe on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Categories

