unwrappingmommy

One woman’s trash is another woman’s treasure

Posted on: February 25, 2013

I got a text the other day from a friend asking me if I’d like her yarning supplies.  I said, Heck Yes!!  She said she’d bring me what she had to church on Sunday.  I was expecting a bag of yarn and some hooks.  What I got was soooooooooo much more!!!Image

This is the stash I’ve inherited!  I was completely shocked.  I couldn’t believe that someone just wanted to give me all this stuff.  If you look really close to the left hand side, those 2 cream colored bunches of yarn near the bottom are 100% Suri Alpaca.  I about died when I got my hands on that.  It is the most gloriously soft yarn I’ve ever held in my grubby little hands.  And, now that I have it, I’m scared to death to use it!!!  But, one day, I’ll figure it out.

After I’d sorted all the goodies I couldn’t just let it all sit there.  That poor yarn had been sitting in boxes for years just waiting to become something.  Since most of the yarns are a bulky weight, I thought an infinity scarf would be just the ticket.  I picked out a lucious aqua & white yarn with shimmery ribbon threaded through it, and googled “infinity scarf”.  I found this really simple Infinity Loop pattern that took me less than 3 hours to complete.  It uses 2 stitiches I hadn’t used before, a Foundation Chain and a Herringbone Half Double Crochet, but after a quick look on YouTube it was smooth sailing from there.

I don’t really like scarves, but I just knew that this yarn had to be made into a piece of big, chunky neck candy.  I just love it, and even though I probably won’t wear it, I usually make pieces to give away anyway, so I’m sure I’ll find just the right neck to gift this to soon 🙂Image

Tags:

1 Response to "One woman’s trash is another woman’s treasure"

Ooh you’re so lucky! My grandma gave me bags and bags of yarn when I first took up crochet so it helped start my stash…there is nothing more exciting than raking through bags of yarn, especially when it is a gift!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

@tcakes4u on Instagram

Oh Happy Day!! #goldensnitch #fidgetspinner #harrypotter #quidditch  #seeker Kassidy LOVES My Little Pony, and Bill can't stand them. They have a running joke about it, and so when it was time to make a Father's Day gift, she chose to draw her Dad, annoyed, and surrounded by ponies 😂😂😂 Definitely my kid 😍😂😍😂😍 #mlp #mylittlepony #fathersday #funny #dadjoke #tween #mykid #justlikehermama I miss you already. See you in October! #beach #clearwaterbeach #clearwater #florida #sunset #sugarsand #paradise #nofilter #nofilterneeded #palmtrees #clouds #insta This Lil'Bit is turning 8!!!! Not sure how that happened, but she'll always be my baby #baby #birthday #birthdaygirl #youngest #daughter #sister #trolls #steelers #wonderwoman #princessleia  #bubbles #losttooth #glassbottlesoda #MEPA #firstplace #8 #eight #8yearsold Our hotel is prettier than your hotel! 🌈🏖️🌊🐬🐳🐋🚢🐚🌅🕶️👒🏄‍♀️🌞 #clearwaterbeach #edge #edgehotel #florida #hotel #openforbusiness #instagram #allegiant #summer #infinity #pool #instagood #expedia #ocean #beach #vacation #clearwater #paradise #sugarsand #heavenonearth #beautiful #clearskies #beachhairdontcare My favorite place. No filter needed. #clearwaterbeach #florida #vacation #sunset #gulfofmexico Time for Noms!! Taste the Rainbow. #tastetherainbow #rainbow #yummy #silly #funny #rightplacerighttime #rain #openwide #boymom #skittles When the friend your friend crocheted for you needs a friend, you make one. #crochet #besties #friends #unicorn #kittencube #rainbow #yarn #fiberart #amigurumi

@Chalk_n_Awe on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Categories

