unwrappingmommy

Appreciate a Teacher!!

Posted on: May 5, 2013

Once upon a time I wanted to be a teacher.  I wanted to sit in front of a little circle of tiny faces and read them colorful picture books.  I even headed that direction when I started out in college.  But, things change, and I didn’t take that road.  I am still very fond of the people who have made it their life’s work to mold my children, and like to make a little extra effort to thank them for this.

As you might already know, Teacher Appreciation Week is May 6th – 10th this year.  Thanks to Pinterest, I found LOTS of great gift ideas!  I came up with something I think is fun and original.  Something that lasts all week and not just one day. 

Along the lines of this clever idea from Skip to My Lou, I decided to go with a  jumbo pill reminder box and stuff each “day” with a treat.  The kids and I headed to our local party supply store to choose different pieces of loose candy that would fit in the boxes and that I could make up little sayings for.  Being a lover and user of sign language I was excited to find “I Love You” sign language erasers so I got those and some fun pencils, too.  

Since the pill boxes are clear I wanted to cover them up to make each day a surprise.  We found rainbow duct tape at Jo Ann’s that I wrapped the boxes with.  We also got heavy stock scrapbook paper to write the daily sayings on, and some scrapbook stickers for added fun.  I made 4 gifts for around $20.00.  

Here’s what we got to stuff the boxes, and what I had them write:

S: Chocolate Ball – You make learning a BALL!

M: Big Swedish Fish – You’re o’FISH’ally my favorite teacher!

T: Hershey Hugs and Kisses – A HUG and a KISS for a great teacher!

W: Big Lifesaver – You’re a LIFESAVER!

Th: Smarties – Thank you for making me a SMARTIE!

F: Hershey Nugget – Thanks for the NUGGETS of knowledge!

S: Brach’s Strawberry – You are a BERRY good teacher!

I also wrote my own little thank you note, and tied it up with a poofy ribbon.

Image

I’m happy with the way this project turned out, and I hope the teachers like them too.  My kids really do have amazing teachers this year, and I hope this will show them just how much we love them.

If you don’t have time to make something for each day, or don’t have time for a homemade gift that’s okay!  My good friend and teacher said that she loves to receive tissues and small bottles of hand sanitizer to keep in her purse!!  I think the important thing is that you send in a little something just to let a teacher know that you appreciate all they’ve done for your child and all they’ve done for you.  I know they’ve made my life a whole lot easier!!

THANKS, TEACHERS!!!  Without you this post wouldn’t have been possible 😉

1 Response to "Appreciate a Teacher!!"

I love this post as I am a teacher! We don’t have this day in the UK so I am looking forward to getting to Ohio!

Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

@tcakes4u on Instagram

When your kid asks for a lunchbox note 15 minutes before the bus come...
#lunchboxnote #firstdayofschool #groot #quick #freehand #instagram #instagood #gotg #iamgroot Movie night at the park, and I found this little sweetie. #WillyWonka #paintrocks #paintedrocks #imagination #rockdrop #artdrop #candy #candyshop #cwpdrocks #finderskeepers Hooking up some chevrons for a Bebe!! Love these poppy, fun colors 😍 
#crochet #baby #bright #fun #colorful #chevron #afghan #babyblanket #babycrochet #yarn #rhss Oh Happy Day!! #goldensnitch #fidgetspinner #harrypotter #quidditch  #seeker Kassidy LOVES My Little Pony, and Bill can't stand them. They have a running joke about it, and so when it was time to make a Father's Day gift, she chose to draw her Dad, annoyed, and surrounded by ponies 😂😂😂 Definitely my kid 😍😂😍😂😍 #mlp #mylittlepony #fathersday #funny #dadjoke #tween #mykid #justlikehermama I miss you already. See you in October! #beach #clearwaterbeach #clearwater #florida #sunset #sugarsand #paradise #nofilter #nofilterneeded #palmtrees #clouds #insta This Lil'Bit is turning 8!!!! Not sure how that happened, but she'll always be my baby #baby #birthday #birthdaygirl #youngest #daughter #sister #trolls #steelers #wonderwoman #princessleia  #bubbles #losttooth #glassbottlesoda #MEPA #firstplace #8 #eight #8yearsold Our hotel is prettier than your hotel! 🌈🏖️🌊🐬🐳🐋🚢🐚🌅🕶️👒🏄‍♀️🌞 #clearwaterbeach #edge #edgehotel #florida #hotel #openforbusiness #instagram #allegiant #summer #infinity #pool #instagood #expedia #ocean #beach #vacation #clearwater #paradise #sugarsand #heavenonearth #beautiful #clearskies #beachhairdontcare My favorite place. No filter needed. #clearwaterbeach #florida #vacation #sunset #gulfofmexico

@Chalk_n_Awe on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Categories

