unwrappingmommy

Chalking this up to a fun summer…

Posted on: May 7, 2013

I’m not really an outside person.  I’ll go out there if I have to, and sometimes I enjoy being in the sunshine.  But, mostly, I’d rather just stay inside.  I really don’t like going outside so I can supervise the minions.  Biggest and Middlest are old enough that they don’t need me by their side, but Littlest is at that age where she WILL go where the other kids go, even if it’s past the stop sign!  So, in an effort to keep the peace, I go out there so she can play and I can make sure she’s not wondering off into traffic.

In the cooler months I’m able to sit outside with a crochet project to keep me busy, but now that I don’t have much to work on since wool creations aren’t so popular in the summer, I needed to find another way to entertain myself out there.  Some suggestions would be read a book, play with the kids, weed the garden, etc.  Well, I’ve tried reading books out there, and it’s no good.  I’m too busy listening to shouted voices and deciphering if they are happy or bleeding.  My kids don’t want to play with me, which, honestly is okay.  And I don’t have a garden.  So, what am I to do with my time out of doors???  

One hot day near the end of summer, while standing on the sidewalk kicking pebbles and looking for something to keep me occupied as the minions frolicked about, I was struck by the huge, blank piece of concrete that is otherwise known as THE DRIVEWAY.  There is was, right under my feet.  I dug out the bucket of chalk pieces from the garage, and thought about what to draw.  I’ve always enjoyed drawing.  I’m not great, but I do okay when I’m looking at a picture and copying it.  Oh, and it MUST be a cartoon.  I’m no good at all when it comes to real people or very detailed drawings.  I’m also kinda crappy at sizing up my work space, so the driveway is perfect because it’s huge!!

Last summer, was my first go at the chalking.  I used our small bucket of chalk chunks that had probably been left out in the rain more than once (or twice….or three times).  I used a page from Biggest’s Tangled coloring book and chalked a big Rapunzel and Maximus.  It was so fun, and took up just enough time that the kids were about done playing outside when I was done drawing.

After I’d limped through that chalking with our old chunks I NEEDED to get my own chalk.  I went out the next day and bought the biggest box I could find.  I also got a few little boxes so the kids would keep their paws off of mine!

TADAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Image

The mother of all sidewalk chalk boxes!!

Isn’t it beautiful?

Now that I had my big box of pretty colors, Middlest requested something more “boyish”.  So, going off of his request, and Super Hero Squad coloring book I chalked him Iron Man.  I really liked this one, and he was excited to show all his friend.

Part of the fun for me now is listening to people walk past.  I love making people happy, and when things I do make them smile or stop and look at the chalks I’ve done it makes me happy.  

So far I’ve done Rapunzel, Iron Man, Strawberry Shortcake, Powerpuff Girls, Millie from Umizoomi, Samurai Jack, and Perry the Platypus/Agent P.  I’ve gotten a much earlier start this year so I hope to do lots and lots of chalks.  I’ve also started coloring in my drawings, which takes up A LOT of chalk.  But it looks a lot cooler, so when I can I’m going to color them in.

Oh, and, FYI, that big box up there only has 1 piece of black chalk.  Seriously, 1 single piece.  I made quick work of that stick, and searched for more.  But, you can’t buy just black, so I made my own 🙂  It’s really simple, and I found easy instructions HERE.

Image

 

I hope you’ll find some inspiration here, and go to chalk town this summer if you don’t have anything else to do.  It’s great, messy fun that keeps the kids in ear shot, amazes their friends, and makes one of the coolest moms on the block.  But, I don’t do it to be the cool mom, I do it because I like it and my kids like it.  And that is what matters most 🙂  

Thanks for stopping by, and here are my chalks thus far:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

4 Responses to "Chalking this up to a fun summer…"

These chalk drawings are fantastic!

Thanks!! It’s a fun way to pass the time outside. I got a new, big box for Mother’s Day. 48 DIFFERENT colors! I’m in heaven 🙂

[…] few months ago I posted how I liked to spend my summer months outside doing some sidewalk chalk art while the kids play. […]

[…] on-lookers is how I got started chalking.  It’s pretty simple, and you can read about it HERE if you really want to.  But, something that wasn’t in that original story, and something I […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

@tcakes4u on Instagram

Kit-Cat has arrived :) #ticktock #kitcat #nostalgia #madeintheusa  #clock Cross-Post from @chalk_n_awe of these little cuties I paints yesterday to hide around our town 😍 Boxtop Collection Hack: Put a magnet inside a #Ziploc sandwich bag and hang it on the fridge. When it's time to take them into school, take the magnet out, zip the bag and throw it in your kid's backpack. #done #slackermom #ziplocbaggies #boxtops #easypeasy #youfancy #instamom #hack #lifehack #magnet #collect #school #backtoschool Hooked a Hugamonster for my Hugamonster 😍 Pattern from the beautiful @jensalittleloopy  #crochet #funfur #amigurumi #monster #hug #toy #love #cute #creepy #furry #fiberart About to get entertained by this bunch'a hooligans!! #improv #dayton #blackboximprov #hardsoda #orange #datenight When your kid asks for a lunchbox note 15 minutes before the bus come...
#lunchboxnote #firstdayofschool #groot #quick #freehand #instagram #instagood #gotg #iamgroot Movie night at the park, and I found this little sweetie. #WillyWonka #paintrocks #paintedrocks #imagination #rockdrop #artdrop #candy #candyshop #cwpdrocks #finderskeepers Hooking up some chevrons for a Bebe!! Love these poppy, fun colors 😍 
#crochet #baby #bright #fun #colorful #chevron #afghan #babyblanket #babycrochet #yarn #rhss Oh Happy Day!! #goldensnitch #fidgetspinner #harrypotter #quidditch  #seeker

@Chalk_n_Awe on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Categories

