unwrappingmommy

They know me so well…

Posted on: May 27, 2013

A few weeks ago my family showed me their appreciation for being the Mother around here.  The kids and I headed to Pittsburgh to spend the day with my mom, and when we got back from the trip I found a brand new box of SIDEWALK CHALK!!!  Yes, I know, amazing, right!  It’s one of the new Crayola boxes with 48 different colors.  It really is a thing of beauty, and I was surprised and excited to get this and a nice hefty Jo~Ann’s gift card.

Image

I hadn’t had much of a chance to chalk since Mother’s Day, so I was excited when my day opened up and the weather cooperated on Friday.  Here’s who came to visit:

One of the neighborhood kids asked me a few weeks ago if I’d done Scooby Doo.  I hadn’t, and he seemed like a good way to start the day.

Image

After Scooby I was feeling like I needed to chalk a little something for myself.  I do love to do them for the kids, but I also like things that aren’t kiddie related, so I thought this image for my FAVORITE musical would be fun and different.  These ladies were actually a little more difficult than I anticipated since Elphaba’s face is smack dab in the middle of a huge black ‘blob’.  Since I use the lines as my guide when I draw it was tricky to get her just right.  But, I think it worked out well in the end, Wicked little minx!

Image

After Elphie and Glinda I thought I was done, but then I saw a picture on Instagram that a friend had posted of Stitch.  I was struck with inspiration and had to get him down on the drive!  I think this guy is my favorite so far.  I just love the blue!!

Image

While I was chalking Stitch, the kids had gathered around the driveway like usual.  K’s bestie lives across the street, and her birthday was the next day.  I asked her if she wanted me to chalk something for her on her driveway, and she requested Ariel.  I thought it would be fun to see the before and after color, so I’ve posted that next.

Image

That was a busy day of chalking, and I paid for it the next day, but it was totally worth it!  I do love to have all the kids gather around and talk to me about what I’m chalking.  I think it’s a great way for them to express their creativity on a huge scale.  I’ve been on walks recently and seen a lot more chalking than normal.  I’m not completely convinced that it’s my doing, but I like to think it has something to do with them seeing what else can be done with sidewalk chalk.  I also heard that people were driving by the house yesterday while we were out and taking pictures!  That is really exciting to me since I do the chalking to make everyone smile.

It rained last night, so most of the chalks have washed away.  It’s one of the downsides of working in chalk outside.  But, I think of it like a cake artist.  The pieces are made to be enjoyed for a short time, and then cleared away…although chalk isn’t nearly as tasty as cake!

After I posted my photos to my personal Facebook a friend suggested I try out a website called Fiverr and offer to draw stuff for people.  I’ve had some people request characters in the past, and thought it might be a good idea since I don’t always have ideas for characters, and chalk isn’t free 😀  So, I set up the Fiverr account, and posted my first Gig over there.  If you’ve got something you’d like to see in chalk, and $5 you wouldn’t mind sending my way, then check it out!!

Thanks for stopping by to see what I’ve been up to.  I love to share these chalkings with you, and if it’s inspired you to get out and chalk something let me know!!  I’d love to see it.  Stay tuned, I’m sure there will be lots more to come.

2 Responses to "They know me so well…"

Near to where I love there is a promenade which people (mainly children) chalk on during the summer/good weather. I will try and get some pictures for you (they are no where near as artistic as yours but brighten the walk along the sea).

Molly @ The Move to America

Oh that would be wonderful!! I do love to see colorful sidewalks. And, anyone who wields a tool in order to create something is an artist, the level of quality is in the eye of the beholder 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

@tcakes4u on Instagram

When your kid asks for a lunchbox note 15 minutes before the bus come...
#lunchboxnote #firstdayofschool #groot #quick #freehand #instagram #instagood #gotg #iamgroot Movie night at the park, and I found this little sweetie. #WillyWonka #paintrocks #paintedrocks #imagination #rockdrop #artdrop #candy #candyshop #cwpdrocks #finderskeepers Hooking up some chevrons for a Bebe!! Love these poppy, fun colors 😍 
#crochet #baby #bright #fun #colorful #chevron #afghan #babyblanket #babycrochet #yarn #rhss Oh Happy Day!! #goldensnitch #fidgetspinner #harrypotter #quidditch  #seeker Kassidy LOVES My Little Pony, and Bill can't stand them. They have a running joke about it, and so when it was time to make a Father's Day gift, she chose to draw her Dad, annoyed, and surrounded by ponies 😂😂😂 Definitely my kid 😍😂😍😂😍 #mlp #mylittlepony #fathersday #funny #dadjoke #tween #mykid #justlikehermama I miss you already. See you in October! #beach #clearwaterbeach #clearwater #florida #sunset #sugarsand #paradise #nofilter #nofilterneeded #palmtrees #clouds #insta This Lil'Bit is turning 8!!!! Not sure how that happened, but she'll always be my baby #baby #birthday #birthdaygirl #youngest #daughter #sister #trolls #steelers #wonderwoman #princessleia  #bubbles #losttooth #glassbottlesoda #MEPA #firstplace #8 #eight #8yearsold Our hotel is prettier than your hotel! 🌈🏖️🌊🐬🐳🐋🚢🐚🌅🕶️👒🏄‍♀️🌞 #clearwaterbeach #edge #edgehotel #florida #hotel #openforbusiness #instagram #allegiant #summer #infinity #pool #instagood #expedia #ocean #beach #vacation #clearwater #paradise #sugarsand #heavenonearth #beautiful #clearskies #beachhairdontcare My favorite place. No filter needed. #clearwaterbeach #florida #vacation #sunset #gulfofmexico

@Chalk_n_Awe on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Categories

